Colorado Cleantech Association selects 2012 finalists in advancing state's cleantech economy

By: Steve Wednesday October 10, 2012 0 comments Tags: Albeo Technologies, Ampt, Aravaipa Ventures, Boulder Wind Power, Brian Delgrosso, CCIA, Christine Shepard, Deloitte, Denver, Doug Schatz, Ecotech Institute, Josh Green, Mark Verheyen, Robert Fenwick-Smith, Sandy Butterfield, SkyFuel, Solix BioSystems, Sundrop Fuels, TerraLUX, Zeachem

DENVER - The Colorado Cleantech Industry Association (CCIA) today announced 21 finalists for its third annual "Colorado Cleantech Industry Awards Celebration" honoring leadership in advancing cleantech job creation, corporate growth, individual effort and technical innovation.

Winners will be announced Oct. 22 at the Colorado Cleantech Awards Celebration at the Sheraton Downtown Denver Hotel.

The finalists were selected on their ability to impact the marketplace with innovative clean technologies and recognizes successful fundraising efforts, ability to scale their technology and the company's statewide job creation success.

Individuals were selected for their commitment to expanding Colorado's cleantech ecosystem and their devotion to the growth of their respective organizations.

With guidance from Deloitte, the finalists were selected by a group of industry peers consisting of entrepreneurial leaders, cleantech CEOs and former award winners.

"We greatly value the work these companies and individuals have undertaken and their passion towards positioning Colorado as one of the most advanced states in the nation for cleantech," said Christine Shepard, CCIA executive director.

Award finalists for 2012 are:

National Cleantech Leadership Award

* Center for the New Energy Economy, Fort Collins

* Colorado Renewable Energy Collaboratory, Golden

* Ecotech Institute, Aurora

Governor's Award for Excellence in Cleantech Leadership

  •  Robert Fenwick-Smith, Aravaipa Ventures

  • Doug Schatz, Ampt

Cleantech Corporate Champion

  • Wells Fargo

Cleantech Investor of the Year

  • 9th Street Investments, Golden

  • Access Venture Partners, Westminster

  • Braemar Energy Partners

  • New Enterprise Associates

High Impact Cleantech Company

  • Albeo Technologies, Boulder

  • Sundrop Fuels, Longmont

Breakout Cleantech Company

  • Boulder Wind Power, Boulder

  • Zeachem, Lakewood

Emerging Cleantech Company

  • Silver Bullet Water Treatment, Denver

  • SkyFuel Inc., Arvada

Colorado Cleantech Entrepreneur of the Year

  • Sandy Butterfield, Boulder Wind Power, Boulder

  • Hans Mueller, EcoVapor Recovery Systems, Centennial

Cleantech Executive of the Year

  • Joel Butler, Solix BioSystems, Fort Collins

  • Mark Verheyen, TerraLUX

Legislator of the Year

  • State Rep. Brian Delgrosso

The awards celebration will be held from 5-8 p.m. Josh Green, general partner at Mohr Davidow Ventures and chair-elect of the National Venture Capital Association, will be keynote speaker.

For more information or to register, visit


About the Author: Steve