CSU Blue Ocean Challenge judges announced

By: InnovatioNews Thursday May 21, 2015 0 comments Tags: Fort Collins, CSU Blue Ocean Enter, Fort Collins Startup, Gerry Caron, Christine Hudson, Russ Kittell, Kyle Kirkpatrick, Meade Malone, David Tolson, Robert Ward, Libby Cook, Daniel Epstein, Lawrence Mandes, Sanjay Mehta, Alex Welch, Tamara Kleinberg, Lisa Tessarowicz, Jose Vieitez, Scott Bergquist, David Gold, Kyle Hansen, Bill Heuston, Sue Kunz, Juan Velez, Jeff Wood, Gary Wayne Clark, AJ Dye, Todd Lemley, John Marotta, Ashok Reddy, Kyle Cox, Sue Heilbronner, Jeff Hoffman, Kate Shillo, Peter Adams


FORT COLLINS -- Organizers of the second annual $250,000 CSU Blue Ocean Enterprises Challenge announced the panels of judges for each round of the business pitch competition.Blue_Ocean_logoUSE

A total of 28 companies will pitch during Fort Collins Startup Week, May 26-31.

The Collegiate Competition will be held May 27 and award a $20,000 grand prize to the winner. Judges for each round of that competition are:

(Collegiate Seed Round)

  • Gerry Caron, Otter Products
  • Christine Hudson, Rally
  • Russ Kittell, United Launch Alliance
  • Kyle Kirkpatrick, Decibullz (winner of 2014 Challenge)
  • Meade Malone, MWM Global Holdings
  • David Tolson, Capital Value Advisors
  • Robert Ward, PwC

(Collegiate Semifinal and Final Rounds)

  • Libby Cook, Philanthropiece Foundation
  • Daniel Epstein, Unreasonable Group
  • Lawrence Mandes, Galvanize
  • Sanjay Mehta, Trend Micro
  • Alex Welch, Lasso Media

(Collegiate Trolley Pitch)

  • Tamara Kleinberg, The Shuuk
  • Lisa Tessarowicz, CALM Foundation
  • Jose Vieitez, Boomtown Accelerator

The Enterprise Competition will be held May 29-30 and features a $250,000 grand prize.

(Enterprise Competition Seed Round)

  • Scott Bergquist, Silicon Valley Bank
  • David Gold, Access Venture Partners
  • Kyle Hansen, Outward Hound
  • Bill Heuston, ViaWest
  • Sue Kunz, ThriveOn Group
  • Juan Velez, Aurora Organic Farms
  • Jeff Wood, HP

(Enterprise Quarterfinal Rounds)

  • Gary Wayne Clark, venture capitalist and angel investor
  • AJ Dye, Delta Electronics Capital
  • Todd Lemley, ThriveOn Group
  • John Marotta, Emerge Medical
  • Ashok Reddy, Unreasonable Capital

(Enterprise Semifinal and Final Rounds)

  • Kyle Cox, ATP Fund
  • Sue Heilbronner, MergeLane
  • Jeff Hoffman, Priceline
  • Kate Shillo, Galvanize Ventures
  • Peter Adams, Rockies Venture Club

All 2015 CSU Blue Ocean Enterprises Challenge events except the Trolley Pitch will be held in the Lory Student Center on the CSU campus and are free and open to the public but registration is required.

Volunteers to assist during the events are also sought. To volunteer or register, visit www.blueoceanchallenge.com.


About the Author: InnovatioNews

InnovatioNews is an online news magazine spotlighting innovative companies, products and people in Colorado. Launched in June of 2012, the site is the recipient of multiple awards.