CBSA Awards Dinner on Nov. 12 will honor state’s life sciences leaders

Friday October 30, 2015 0 comments Tags: Denver, CBSA, CBSA 12th Annual Awa, April Giles, Amy Van Dyken-Rouen, MedKeeper, KBI Biopharma, SomaLogic, dbMEDx, Mighty Oak Medical, Nivalis Therapeutics


DENVER -- Leaders from Colorado’s life sciences sector will gather Nov. 12 to celebrate the state’s most inventive bioscience companies, researchers and volunteers at the annual Colorado BioScience Association’s Awards dinner.CBSA_Awards_Dinner_logoUSE_1

The dinner honors those organizations and individuals who have helped make Colorado a recognized center of bioscience innovation and investment, CBSA said.

“With companies ranging from multi-nationals to nimble startups choosing to join Colorado’s bioscience sector in 2015, there’s no better time to be part of this vibrant and growing community,” said April Giles, CBSA president and CEO.

“Our 2015 awards dinner will highlight the outstanding organizations and pioneering people in our state.”

This year’s award nominees are:

Company of the Year

  • MedKeeper, provider of a suite of fast, flexible and economical applications for hospital pharmacies to promote pharmacy communications, compliance and productivity
  • KBI Biopharma, a biopharmaceutical contract development and manufacturing organization serving clients in the accelerated development of needed medicines
  • SomaLogic, developer of a new proteomics technology that overcomes the significant challenges of current technologies and has multiple applications across biological and medical sciences

Rising Stars

  • dBMEDx, a company that uses patented, non-invasive scanning technology to simplify patient-monitoring devices
  • Mighty Oak Medical, developer of 3D printing technology to create customized, patient-specific guides for pedicle screw placement in spinal surgery
  • Nivalis Therapeutics, a company advancing its proprietary novel-class of disease-modifying therapies in the clinic with the aim of improving the lives of people with cystic fibrosis

Additional awards will be given for Educator of the Year, Lifetime Achievement and a Chairman’s Award.

Another highlight of the event will be the Boettcher Foundation presenting the 2015 Class of Boettcher Investigators in the Webb-Waring Biomedical Research Awards program.

Six-time Olympic swimming champion Amy Van Dyken-Rouen will give the event’s keynote, sharing her inspiring journey from Olympic gold medalist to overcoming a spinal cord injury with the help of rehabilitation and medical innovation.

Inducted into the Olympic Hall of Fame in 2008, she is one of only a few Olympians whose medals are all gold.

The awards dinner will be held at the Denver Marriott City Center from 5:30-8 p.m. Sponsorships are $1,250 for tables of eight and individual tickets cost $150.

For more information, click here.