APEX awards recognize 10 of Colorado's outstanding technology leaders

Friday November 6, 2015 0 comments Tags: Denver, Apex Awards, Colorado Technology , SpotX, DigitalGlobe, Dave Wright, BluFlux Technologies, John Swieringa, Steve Halstedt, Mike Hess, Erik Mitisek


DENVER -- Colorado Technology Association  honored 10 companies and individuals during its 15th annual APEX Awards, presented by Comcast, at the Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel on Nov. 5.APEX_logoUSE_3

CTA’s red carpet event recognizes the individuals, companies and accomplishments that have contributed to the success of the state’s technology sector.

Ten APEX awards were presented to companies and individuals who have made an impact on Colorado’s rapidly growing technology sector. CTA said the event is an annual opportunity to celebrate Colorado’s technology excellence, remarkable leaders and inspiring innovation.

After individual and company nominations from across the state were submitted in July, an independent panel of judges narrowed the field down to three finalists in each award category.

“The APEX Awards are the highest honor for companies and individuals leading our Colorado technology community. This year we had an amazing group of finalists – all who should be honored for their work to grow Colorado,” said Erik Mitisek, Colorado Technology Association CEO.

Recipients of this year’s APEX Awards were:

CEO of the Year: Dave Wright, CEO and founder of SolidFire
Sponsored by EY

Startup of the Year: BluFlux
Sponsored by EKS&H

Advocate of the Year: Senator Michael Bennett and Senator Rollie Heath
Sponsored by AT&T

Educator of the Year: Denise Gardiner, computer science teacher and Department Chair at Pine Creek High School, Colorado Springs
Sponsored by DigitalGlobe

Talent Champion of the Year: Mike Hess, founder and director at Blind Institute of Technology
Sponsored by CommVault

Project of the Year: DigitalGlobe
Sponsored by Comcast

CIO of the Year: John Swieringa, CIO at DISH Network
Sponsored by Hitachi

Company of the Year: SpotX
Sponsored by Holland & Hart

Bob Newman Lifetime Achievement Award: Steve Halstedt
Sponsored by Colorado Technology Association