18th annual APEX Awards honor state’s tech leaders

Friday November 9, 2018 0 comments Tags: Denver, CTA, Colorado Technology Association , Apex Awards, Frannie Matthews

DENVER -- Colorado Technology Association (CTA) hosted its 18th annual APEX Awards, presented by Accenture at the Seawell Grand Ballroom, to recognize the leaders, companies and accomplishments that have contributed to the success of the state’s technology sector.CTA_logoUSE

Twelve awards were presented Nov. 7 to companies and individuals making an impact on Colorado’s rapidly growing technology sector. After individual and company nominations from across the state were submitted over the summer, an independent panel of judges selected finalists and winners.

"Technology is the foundation of all of our industries and when the tech industry thrives, the entire economy benefits," said Frannie Matthews, CTA’s president and CEO.

"This year's APEX Awards nominees, finalists and winners showcase the best of the best in Colorado tech and are paving the way for our state to be the most robust, inclusive and collaborative tech community worldwide.”

The APEX Awards were sponsored by Accenture, DaVita, Compri, DCP Midstream, EKS&H now part of Plante Moran, Moss Adams, Sumo Logic, CareerWise Colorado, Cooley, Swiftpage and Crowe. 

The 2018 APEX Awards winners are:

Bob Newman Lifetime Achievement: Kristin Russell, Arrow Electronics
This individual has made outstanding achievements and commitments to furthering innovative technology in our community and the state and has contributed to the initiatives of Colorado Technology Association.

CIO of the Year: Suma Nallapati, Governor's Office of Information Technology
This outstanding Chief Information Officer has demonstrated considerable ingenuity in leading an IT team and implementing technology projects that demonstrably improve the effectiveness of their organization.

CISO of the Year: Robb Reck, Ping Identity
This innovative Chief Information Security Officer has implemented a security program that accelerated the success of her/his Colorado-based business. Utilizing people, processes and technologies, this security leader has positioned the security program to deliver on the core mission of the organization.

CEO of the Year: Brock Berry, AdCellerant
This creative, innovative and determined founder or CEO leads a Colorado-based tech company. In addition to the daily role of leading their company, they work to drive the vibrancy of the tech economy beyond their business.

Colorado Entrepreneur Excellence: Sudha Chandrasekharan, Learn-Skillz
This entrepreneurial leader has contributed to multiple businesses, with at least one as a tech company started, grown and operated in Colorado. They have a true passion to seek out problems to solve, and they organize, manage and assume the risk of a business or enterprise.

Company of the Year: HomeAdvisor
This Colorado-based company’s overall performance sets it apart as a leader through technical innovation and concrete examples of how it is meeting a need in the marketplace. This company also is a strong leader in the community and shows corporate responsibility.

Emerging Tech Company of the Year: Pax8
This is Colorado’s most promising emerging company in operation for five years or less. They are innovative and identified a need in the marketplace for the product or service.

Project of the Year: Levels Beyond
This project, implemented by an innovative IT department, solved a business problem with strategic objectives and innovation and overcame obstacles, met goals and demonstrated team collaboration.

Advocate of the Year: State Sen. Jack Tate
This individual is advancing the technology industry in Colorado through their leadership in moving forward policies and ideas that ensure our state's status as a prominent tech hub.

Emerging Leader of the Year: Samuel Thomas Elliot, Amnet
This Emerging Leader has demonstrated a commitment to the Colorado tech industry by showing passion for technology and making significant contributions to their organization or the industry overall. They excel at their role and actively seek opportunities to grow professionally and personally. This individual shows great potential to grow in their area of expertise and as a leader in the tech community.

Talent Champion of the Year: Heather Terenzio, Techtonic Group
This individual builds and strengthens the technology talent pipeline by leading and supporting initiatives to construct and ensure a strong, diverse local pipeline of tech workers in the state 

Youth Tech Leader of the Year: Shreya Nallapati
This Colorado student leverages tech through a club or community group to advance tech education and innovation in unique and impactful ways for fellow students, his or her school and the local community.