17th annual APEX Awards spotlight Colorado’s tech leaders, accomplishments

Friday November 10, 2017 0 comments Tags: Denver, Colorado Technology Association , Apex Awards, Andrea Young

DENVER -- Colorado Technology Association hosted its 17th annual APEX Awards, presented by Accenture, on Nov. 8, a red-carpet event recognizing the individuals, companies and accomplishments that have contributed to the success of the state’s technology sector.APEX_logoUSE

Twelve awards were presented by CTA to companies and individuals making an impact on Colorado’s rapidly growing technology sector.

“This year’s record number of nominations continues Colorado’s story as a supportive tech community with an ever-growing number of exceptional companies and individuals creating prosperity for our state,” said Andrea Young, CTA’s president and CEO.

“We were thrilled to celebrate another astounding year for Colorado tech in a beautiful setting and know that these APEX Awards winners will be making an impact for years to come.”

The 2017 APEX Award winners are:

Talent Champion of the Year: Carol Carter, GlobalMindED // Sponsored by Colorado Succeeds

Educator of the Year: Phil Johnston, Central High School // Sponsored by mindSpark Learning

Youth Tech Leader of the Year: Jaqueline Pacheco // Sponsored by University of Denver

Advocate of the Year: State Rep. Tracy Kraft-Tharp // Sponsored by Visa

Colorado Entrepreneur Excellence: Elia Wallen, Travelers Haven & Hotel Engine // Sponsored by Hein & Associates

Emerging Tech Company of the Year: PAIRIN // Sponsored by EKS&H

Company of the Year: Sendgrid // Sponsored by CenturyLink.

Project of the Year: Braxton Technologies // Sponsored by Compri Consulting

CEO of the Year: Shawn Mills, Greenhouse Data // Sponsored by CTA

CIO of the Year: Jeff Robertson, DigitalGlobe // Sponsored by Accenture

CISO of the Year: Matt Shufeldt, Cognizant // Sponsored by Okta

Bob Newman Lifetime Achievement: Andre Durand // Sponsored by CTA

This year’s APEX Awards were sponsored by Accenture, Arrow, CenturyLink, Colorado Succeeds, Compri Consulting, Cooley, DaVita Inc., EKS&H, Hein & Associates, mindSpark Learning, Okta, Oracle, Swiftpage, University of Denver and Visa.